Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Day 35: Saturday in the Fifth Week of Lent

Baptized for the sake of the world

Matthew 25:35-36

‘I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me, I was naked and you gave me clothing, I was sick and you took care of me, I was in prison and you visited me.’

The words of Jesus are not complicated. Imagine a world where no one went hungry, no one went thirsty, no one was unwelcome, no one was unclad, no one alone in disease or prison. Want to wrestle with the deepest spiritual questions? If we can imagine it, why can’t we do it? It’s not like imagining that we could fly like a bird, breathe underwater, or travel to the moon – though we found a way.

We can imagine a world made whole. We seem to know what justice and mercy look like. God has left his imprint on our hearts. God has given his teaching through Moses and the prophets. God has embodied his word in Jesus. He has called all creation to see the face of Christ in their neighbor.

But we are the ones with the story. We are the ones who have been washed in the waters. We are the ones who have been sent into the world to witness to a faithfulness full of mercy, and a mercy that begets faithfulness. We are the ones given a Spirit from above, the breath of the eternal, the breath of the crucified and risen one. We are the ones who should see Christ in the face of others.

Gracious God,
in the waters of baptism you sent us forth as your witnesses.
Help us live your grace and compassion
to all you bring near us today.

– A prayer for the fifth week of Lent

(For the reflection on this week’s theme: Baptized for the sake of the world.” For the themes and sermons of other weeks see the menu for Lent 2018 at Holy Seasons.)