Tags

, , , , , , , ,

1 John 3:18

Little children, let us love, not in word or speech, but in truth and action.

More than words

Remembering that the word ‘love’ has to do with the ties of obligation and care that bind an extended family together, and remembering that such faithfulness to one another is the defining mark of the Christian community (“By this all people will know that your are my disciples,” “Whoever does the will of my Father in heaven is my brother and sister and mother”), and remembering that such fidelity applies not only to the members of our in-group, but to the whole human community (“Who is my neighbor?”), the author of this little letter reminds us that we do not give mere lip-service to such love/faithfulness; it is lived – in ways great and small, in truth and actions: a daring, courageous, selfless, and profoundly fulfilling (“whoever loses his life for my sake will find it”) daily life.

