Tags

, , , ,

1 Peter 1:23

You have been born anew, not of perishable but of imperishable seed, through the living and enduring word of God.

Seed

I don’t know why I decided to plant a garden when I was in middle school. I think it was the memory of fresh corn from the farm, when the water on the stove is hot and ready before you go out to pick the ears and the sweetness explodes in your mouth. It was a strange little plot. Beneath the grass and weeds the soil was filled with broken glass and stones, but I dug out the overgrowth and carefully sifted the soil through an old screen door. Then I planted my seeds full of hope and expectation. The first ears of corn were stunted and held only a few kernels. The soil was worthless – but a little fertilizer and patience led to one delicious night.

I am amazed at the power of the seed to grow even where the soil was worthless. I’ve seen trees growing out of small cracks in granite. I’ve seen beautiful blue flax in a desolate urban alley. And we all know about dandelions. How much more is born of the imperishable seed that is “the living and enduring word of God”

The work of God is to give new birth to the world, to lead us from the winter of our sorrows into the brilliant joy of an eternal spring. And the seed of that new world is the living word, the life-filled word, the life-giving word.

