Tags

, , , ,

Isaiah 43:25

I, I am He
who blots out your transgressions for my own sake,
and I will not remember your sins.

“For my own sake”

“For my own sake.” Not because we deserve it. Not because we have been faithful. Not because we have been good. Not because we have done good deeds or avoided bad ones. Not because we have been baptized or circumcised. Not because we have performed the proper rituals. Not because we have paid our dues or gone dutifully to church. Not because we are Mother Theresa herself. But “For my sake.” Because of God’s goodness. Because of God’s mercy. Because of God’s magnanimity. Because this is what is in the heart of God to do. Because this is God’s nature, God’s essential being.  Because this is God’s choice.

“I am He who blots out your transgressions for my own sake,
and I will not remember your sins.”

