Tags

, , , , , , ,

Isaiah 46:4

Even to your old age I am he,
even when you turn gray I will carry you.
I have made, and I will bear;
I will carry and will save.

I will bear

We are such a youth oriented culture it is nice to hear God say that he will carry us when we turn gray. This is even more powerful when you consider that it was spoken in a world without retirement accounts. Your security for the day when you could no longer work the fields was in your children. But life is uncertain. Few made it to adulthood. The continual reference in scripture to widows and orphans reminds us that life was fragile. But he who made us does not abandon us.

The prophet is observing a religious festival in Babylon where the people carry an image of the Babylonian gods through the streets. “They have it backwards,” says God through the prophet, “I am on the one who does the carrying.”

