Tags

, , , , ,

Psalm 139:13

For it was you who formed my inward parts;
you knit me together in my mother’s womb.

Knitted

I have some beautiful pieces of needlework handed down from previous generations – and a few that were gifts, including a Norwegian Sweater knitted by hand. (It was wonderful to have in Minnesota, but not so necessary in California.) That image of God knitting, stitching us together, weaving the warp and woof together, combining the DNA in infinite creative ways, is a vivid one. Humbling. There are too many things about myself I wish were different, and too few for which I give God thanks and praise – or even simply accept in peace.

It is complicated to say, “God made me this way,” for we exist now in our brokenness and that phrase can excuse our brokenness. But God did make us this way, this unique way, and we add to the garden of God’s delights by being ourselves – our whole and healthy selves, but ourselves.

