Tags

, , , , ,

Psalm 104:24

O LORD, how manifold are your works!
In wisdom you have made them all;
the earth is full of your creatures.

The earth is full of your creatures.

I was impressed to hear recently that the biomass of the 7.3 billion humans on the planet is equal to the biomass of all the ants. A Google search raised some questions about that projection, but the remark contains at least this truth: we forget how much life is around us. I was careful when mowing my lawn in Michigan because the lawn was often full of small frogs. I lived alongside a nature preserve, so there were a variety of creatures that would occasionally show their face. Even still, I tended to think of the world around me in terms of the few birds at the bird feeder, the occasional toad and snake, and the frogs in the grass. But if I paused, if I got close to the ground, if I listened to the woods, if I looked carefully, the world around me was teeming with life. It is like looking at the stars from the top of the Sierras, you feel a lot smaller and the world a lot bigger.

When the world begins to look bigger, God becomes bigger to us – or, perhaps better, I begin to shrink closer to my proper size and import. We may be the crown of creation, but we are still only one piece of it. And when we recognize that we are a part of this vast and wondrous interconnected and interdependent web of life, we are likely to bow more deeply before God and tend more carefully the world entrusted to us.

O LORD, how manifold are your works!
In wisdom you have made them all;
the earth is full of your creatures.

