Tags

, , ,

“He has created me and all that exists”

To make something takes time. It takes thought. It takes energy. It takes vision. You get invested in what you make. You care what happens to it. You treat it with care and want others to treat it with care. You appreciate it just for itself, not only what it can do. It is good in your eyes.

When Christian Faith confesses God as creator, we are not talking about method. We are talking about the tie that exists between God and our ourselves, between God and our world. We matter to God. The earth matters to God. All people matter. And you matter.

The Prayer for Week 1

In the mystery of your love, O God,
you called forth the world
and formed us from the dust of the earth and the breath of your Spirit.
In the wonder of your Son, Jesus,
you show the pattern of true faithfulness.
Make us ever true to your Word
and confident of your mercy;
through your Son, Jesus Christ our Lord.

“He has created me and all that exists”

The First Article:

I believe in God, the Father almighty, creator of heaven and earth.

What does this mean?

I believe that God has created me and all that exists.
He has given me and still preserves my body and soul with all their powers.
He provides me with food and clothing, home and family, daily work,
and all I need from day to day.
God also protects me in time of danger and guards me from every evil.
All this he does out of fatherly and divine goodness and mercy,
though I do not deserve it.
Therefore I surely ought to thank and praise, serve and obey him.

This is most certainly true.

The Small Catechism by Martin Luther in Contemporary English, Augsburg Publishing, ©1960,1968

